Meaning of "land of silver"

a republic that occupies much of the southern part of South America; population 40,913,600 (est. 2009); capital, Buenos Aires; official language, Spanish.


click for a larger image
Ar·gen·ti·na  (är′jən-tē′nə)
A country of southeast South America stretching about 3,700 km (2,300 mi) from its border with Bolivia to southern Tierra del Fuego. The region was sparsely populated by indigenous peoples before the Spanish founded settlements there in the early 1500s. In 1776 Spain established a viceroyalty in present-day Argentina, Uruguay, Paraguay, and Bolivia. Argentina achieved its independence from Spain in 1816. Buenos Aires is the capital and the largest city.

Ar′gen·tine′ (-tēn′, -tīn′), Ar′gen·tin′e·an (-tĭn′ē-ən) adj. & n.


Argentina (ˌɑːdʒənˈtiːnə)
(Placename) a republic in southern South America: colonized by the Spanish from 1516 onwards; gained independence in 1816 and became a republic in 1852; ruled by military dictatorships for much of the 20th century; civilian rule restored in 1983; consists chiefly of subtropical plains and forests (the Chaco) in the north, temperate plains (the pampas) in the central parts, the Andes in the west, and an infertile plain extending to Tierra del Fuego in the south (Patagonia); an important meat producer. Language: Spanish. Religion: Roman Catholic. Currency: peso. Capital: Buenos Aires. Pop: 42 610 981 (2013 est). Area: 2 776 653 sq km (1 072 067 sq miles). Also called: the Argentine


(ˌɑr dʒənˈti nə)
Ar•gen•ti•na (ˌɑr dʒənˈti nə) n.
a republic in S South America. 37,737,664; 1,084,120 sq. mi. (2,807,870 sq. km). Cap.: Buenos Aires. Also called the Argentine.